Elective Modules

CGC0101 Introduction to Guidance and Counselling

This module is designed to introduce the essential elements in guidance and counselling in various contexts including family, school and community. Topics include: definition and aims of guidance and counselling; the importance of the counsellor as a person; core conditions in counselling; and the motivation and self-care of the counsellor and "people-helper".


CGC0102 Introduction to Group Guidance and Counselling

This module is designed to provide an overview of important elements in group guidance and counselling. Topics include: kinds of groups; group leadership styles and what makes an effective leader; potential group problems; and group processes and dynamics. Special emphasis will be put on suitability and application in the Hong Kong context.


CGC0103 Understanding Adolescents' Development and Needs

This module is designed to provide an overview of the developmental needs of adolescents. Emphasis will be put on how the adolescent is influenced by family, school, peers and society. Topics include: basic concepts of adolescent development; cognitive development; moral development; social and personality development; factors influencing the adolescent; and specific developmental issues and problems of Hong Kong adolescents.


CGC0104 Enhancing Self-esteem and Self-image

This module is designed to provide an insight into various ways of enhancing a person's self-esteem and self-image. Topics include: understanding ourselves as humans; feelings and changes; growing towards autonomy; enabling a responsible generation; and a new way to praise and ways to enhance self-esteem in the classroom and at home.


CGC0106 Personal Growth Group Experience

This module consists of three 7-hour sessions aimed at providing participants with a personal growth group experience. The group is semi-structured to meet the specific needs of the participants. It is hoped that through such group experience, participants can learn more about themselves and others; have a greater awareness of feelings about themselves and others; improve interpersonal communications; and reassess their values in an atmosphere of honest sharing and listening. Full attendance is required for this module. (Note: During the processes, participants will be led to revisit their personal growth experience including unpleasant experience and might cause emotional disturbance.)


CGC0107 Effective Communication Skills

This module is designed to provide basic skills and practice for effective interpersonal communication. Topics include: knowing your own communication styles; awareness of non-verbal language; basic active listening skills; effective responding skills; appropriate assertiveness; and life situation practice. Learning takes place through interaction, experience and trying out new skills.


CGC0108 Enhancing Emotional Intelligence (EQ) Workshops

This module is designed to provide learning and practice in how to effectively manage one's emotions. Topics include: key to emotional intelligence; knowing your limits and boundaries; managing with your heart and mind; and application in classroom and family settings. This module requires participants' active involvement and honest sharing for its best outcome.


CGC0112 Practicum and Group Supervision

This module is designed to provide participants with supervised field experience. Each participant has to complete 3 taped counselling sessions. Case management skills will be learned through laboratory experience and examining actual experience. The participants will gain more self-understanding and acquire enhanced fundamental counselling techniques and hence be able to provide effective service in schools.


CGC0115 Comprehensive Student Care and Support System

This module is designed to empower participants to build a comprehensive student care and support system in order to create a nurturing school environment in which children and young people can make maximum use of the opportunity to learn and grow. Topics include: the basic concepts and principles of a comprehensive student care and support system; its goals and domains, service interfacing and collaboration among key parties; and essential elements and skills to implement such a system.


CGC0116 From Identity to Intimacy

This module is designed to help the participants with knowledge and understanding to work with young people having problems of identity, intimacy and sexuality predicaments. The module will venture on dilemma and ambivalence of identity formation and intimacy faced by young people in depth. Through close examination of their own values and attitudes in these issues, participants will be equipped to help the youngsters to overcome their developmental hurdles with competence.


CGC0117 Separation and Loss

This module will closely examine separation and loss in intimate relationship. Participants will learn about the emotional reaction of people to separation and bereavement, and how self may regenerate or stagnate in the dynamic process of attachment, separation, loss and reattachment. It will also introduce methods of intervention to rebuild the sense of connectedness as well as restore the momentum and normal functioning of individual after the change in intimate relationship.

選修單元

CGC0101 輔導概論

本單元旨在介紹不同脈絡之中(如家庭、學校和社群)輔導的基本元素。課題包括:輔導的定義和目的,輔導員身為一個人的重要性,輔導員的動機和身心健康,以及輔導的基本條件等。


CGC0102 團體輔導概論

本單元旨在介紹團體輔導中的重要元素。課題包括:不同類型的團體輔導理論及其應用,團體輔導的風格和有效輔導的條件,團體輔導可能出現的問題,團體輔導的過程和互動情況,以及團體輔導在香港的應用和適切性。


CGC0103 青少年的成長與需要

本單元旨在介紹青少年的成長需要,尤其針對家庭、學校、朋輩和社會如何影響青少年。課題包括:青少年發展的基本概念,認知發展,道德發展,社交和個性發展,影響青少年的因素,以及其他有關青少年的課題。本課程將特別著重探討香港青少年的成長問題。


CGC0104 提升自尊和自我形象

本單元旨在向學員介紹一些能有效提升青少年自尊和自我形象的方法。課題包括:人的本質、感覺和轉變,邁向自主的成長,以及有效的讚美方法。學員亦會探討如何培育負責任的新一代,並認識在課堂和家庭中提升青少年自尊的方法。


CGC0106 工作坊 ── 個人成長歷程

本單元包括三次工作坊,每次七小時。在導師帶領和協助下,學員將透過參與成長小組,加強對自己和他人的觸感,改進與人溝通的技巧,重新評估個人的價值觀,以促進個人成長。學員須出席全部課堂。[註:在過程中,導師會引領學員探索個人的成長經歷,學習面對不愉快的經歷、承擔生命責任。]


CGC0107 有效的溝通技巧

本單元旨在讓學員通過交流、練習和體驗,學習有效的人際溝通技巧。課題包括:認識自己的溝通模式,加強對非言語溝通的觸覺,積極聆聽的技巧,有效回應的技巧,適當的自我確定,以及如何在日常生活中應用這些技巧。


CGC0108 如何提升個人的情緒智商

本單元透過反覆的學習和訓練,讓學員能更有效地管理自己的情緒。課題包括:認識自己的限制,管理個人的心智,以及情緒智商的元素。課程並以個案分析和角色扮演,讓學員嘗試在家庭及課室中應用有關技巧。


CGC0112 小組實習指導

本單元旨在讓學員在導師指導下,實習所學的理念和技巧。每位學員必須完成3節輔導實習,並將過程錄音;導師將在小組指導中改善學員處理個案的技巧。藉著討論真實個案,學員不單能更了解自己,並且進一步提升輔導技巧。


CGC0115 全面的學生關顧與支援系統

本單元旨在協助學員建立全面的學生關顧與支援系統,從而創造有利的學校環境,讓學生盡量把握機會學習和成長。課題包括:全面的學生關顧與支援系統的概念、原則、目標及範疇,與不同服務及團體的合作,以及成功推行此系統的要素和技巧。


CGC0116 從身分認同至親密關係

本單元深入探討青少年在身分認同和親密關係上所遇到的困境與矛盾,讓學員掌握相關知識,協助解開青少年面對身分認同、親密關係及性問題時的困惑。學員亦會檢視自己在有關問題上的價值觀和態度,從而認識如何幫助青少年面對成長路上的障礙。


CGC0117 分離與喪親

本單元將檢視與親人分離和喪親之痛。學員會認識人在遭逢分離或喪親所承受的壓力和可能出現的情緒反應,並了解在「依戀、分離、傷痛和再依戀」的動態變化過程中,人如何恢復生命力或為何一沉不起。課程還介紹不同的介入方法,幫助曾經歷分離或喪親者重建聯繫感,並回復日常功能和生命動力。